Tampere in a nutshell

The Tampere Region is one of Finland’s fastest growing centres. It consists of Tampere and the surrounding municipalities of Kangasala, Lempäälä,Nokia, Orivesi, Pirkkala, Vesilahti and Ylöjärvi. Tampere has a population of more than 220,000 while there are close to half a million people in the greater Tampere Region. The population of Finland is a little more than five million.

Tampere was founded by Sweden’s young monarch, Gustavus III, in 1779. Tampere has a monumental industrial history: the Finlayson cotton mill was the first large-scale industrial enterprise in Finland and it was in fact in fact in Finlayson’s factory hall that the first electric light in the Nordic countries was lit.

Today Tampere can be described as a centre of leading-edge technology, research, education, culture, sports and business. It is Finland’s third largest city as well as the largest inland city in the Nordic countries. Tampere is located on an isthmus between lakes Näsijärvi and Pyhäjärvi, in a beautiful ridge scenery. The Tammerkoski rapids are a nationally recognized landscape and in the city centre you can also enjoy the awarded lighting at Keskustori Central Square.

In the Tampere Region, the duration of the year’s shortest day is approx. 5 h 20 min (December 22nd) and the longest day of the year (June 21st) lasts for about 19 h 30 min. The only things missing in Tampere are the sea and mountains!

Explore more about Tampere region: www.visittampere.fi